Menu Plan: Getting Back on Track

Here’s my strategy for fighting back against whatever’s going on in my head. The doctor has said that I need to lose weight; and, as much as that hurt to hear, it’s the extra motivation I need. When I want to just give up, all I have to do is close my left eye. I’m reminded that my vision loss could end up being permanent if I don’t change some things. So here goes! Step one: plan a healthy menu for the week. These meals are Daniel Plan approved, even if they say Paleo in the title.

Sunday

  • Breakfast: Whole Food Protein Shake (I tried this recipe for the first time today. Very nutty. It was like basically drinking a nut. It kept me full, but it wasn’t the fruit smoothie I was hoping for.)
  • Lunch: Beer Can Chicken and Black Bean Chili Bake (The chicken can be made with any type of can drink. We typically use whatever random can is floating around that no one wants to drink like Root Beer or Diet Coke. There are tons of recipes out there for this. It’s super easy and lasts us a couple days.)
  • Supper: Taco Salad (I just brown some ground beef and season it with cumin, garlic, sea salt, pepper, and chili powder. Throw that on top of a salad and voila. You can also add salsa for dressing if you want, but it’s not a must. The beef has enough flavor on its own.)

Monday:

  • Breakfast: Paleo Scrambled Eggs (eggs, coconut oil, sea salt, pepper)
  • Lunch: Salad and Fruit
  • Supper: Walnut Pesto Chicken, green beans, corn (I haven’t made anything pesto-style before, so this should be fun to try. I went with green beans and corn, because the kids don’t fight too badly about eating this. Rome wasn’t built in a day, right?)

Tuesday:

  • Breakfast: Strawberry-Banana Smoothie (strawberries, bananas, coconut milk, and seeds for added protein)
  • Lunch: Tomato Soup and Fruit
  • Supper: Italian Meatballs and salad

Wednesday:

  • Breakfast: Paleo Scrambled Eggs
  • Lunch: Black Bean Chili Bake
  • Supper: Leftovers (Hey, by this time the fridge is pretty full, and it’s a church night.)

Thursday:

  • Breakfast: Apple-Pear Smoothie (I’ve been told this combo is a good way to sneak in some spinach. I’ll try it once.)
  • Lunch: Tomato Soup
  • Supper: Paleo Chicken Fajitas and Fruit Salad

Friday:

  • Breakfast: Paleo Scrambled Eggs
  • Lunch: Paleo Chicken Fajitas
  • Supper: Paleo Hamburgers (This is basically the normal hamburger minus the bun and condiments – just add seasonings to the beef before grilling. Throw it on top of the lettuce, tomato, and onion and done.)

Saturday:

  • Breakfast: Paleo Breakfast (This means I make eggs and bacon for the family. We can put away some eggs. I’ll stay away from the bacon, but the rest of the family can have some.)
  • Lunch: Leftovers
  • Supper: Leftovers

This week is planned. Now to start planning next week. I’m definitely thinking about starting a small garden after all the produce I had to buy. Leave your ideas in the comments below. Hope you have a happy and healthy week!

Leave a comment