Okay, Doctor. Give it to me straight . . .

How much time does she have left?

This is the question my husband asks the nurse AT THE EYE DOCTOR! I’m going to just guess that this is the first time that they’ve ever been asked that question. Oh boy . . .

Another rabbit trail has come to a dead end. The eye doctor saw no pressure that the neurologist saw, so that’s good and bad. We still don’t have an answer which is frustrating, but my eyes are okay. The strange thing is my vision went completely blurry just after they had adjusted that thingamajig to 20/20. That kind of made me glad – I had proof to myself and the doctors that I wasn’t just making this up or going crazy. But something crazy is going on – that’s for sure.

With all this chaos happening, it has been bringing me in desperate need of my morning time with my Maker. My devotions aren’t necessarily spent at a desk with a Bible and a hot beverage. They’re typically in a car, with the defrost running wide open, and the radio playing quietly. I talk, and God patiently listens every morning. He doesn’t even mind it if I’ve already told Him the same story. Technically, He already knows everything, so I’m not telling Him anything He doesn’t know already . . . Yet He still listens.

Sometimes His answers come as quickly as in a song on the radio that give me gentle reminders. Other times, He recalls Scripture to memory, and I am able to spend the rest of my free time at work reading and studying certain passages. The hardest times are when I have to wait for answers.

As you can probably guess, my conversation the past few days has been about my noggin’. I’m not angry or bitter about the headaches – I just wanted to know why I had gotten them. The hardest thing is not having an answer. I’m betting I’ve probably said that before. Then it hit me.

What if God is using THIS to get my attention?

What if I need to become blind to be reminded of those who are blind to the truth? I believe that there are two types of people that are spiritually blind. In life, there are those who are born blind and those who have become blind. For the sake of this analogy those who are born blind are those who have never heard of Christ, also known as unreached people groups. If you’ve never heard of the Joshua Project, you should definitely look into it. It keeps a running estimate of the people around the world who have never heard of Jesus. Right now, nearly 40% of the world is unreached. How in this day and age is this still possible? So sad.

The next type of blindness is the kind that happens over time. I think this particular type is so subtle that you don’t even notice it’s there until someone brings it to your attention. This blindness is caused (in my opinion) by our insistence on tolerance. We, as Christians, believe that the Bible states certain things are right/wrong, but that hurts people’s feelings . . . so what do we do? We smooth it over by saying, “Oh, well, the Bible doesn’t mean that,” or “That was just a cultural thing,” or “That was just the Old Testament.” We make excuses for the Bible when we still want to say that’s the Book on which we rest our eternal security. We can’t have it both ways.

Then there’s the “issue” of the Jesus being the only way. That’s another problem for those who are becoming blind. This too is largely based on the idea of tolerance. I think this picture explains what I’m getting at:

Coexist?

 

So, Christians are expected to just leave out the fact that Christ is the only answer for eternal security.

In giving up on the accuracy on the Bible as a whole, we allow ourselves to become blind to the truth. We allow other “truths” into our minds and hearts. Romans 1:22 says, “Professing to be wise, they became fools.” What Paul is basically saying here is this: “You had the equivalent of a doctorate when you believed Scriptures. You just gave all that up to go back to kindergarten.” Foolishness, false doctrine, and off-the-wall philosophies are as old as the Scriptures. We should keep this verse in mind: 1 Peter 5:8 – “Be of sober spirit, be on the alert. Your adversary, the devil, prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.”

So, if it takes my eye going blind for me to be reminded of the truth, so be it. If I need the constant reminder of those who are blind or have been blinded, I’ll take it. This is my prayer – that God does what He needs to do to keep me where I need to be.

One thought on “Okay, Doctor. Give it to me straight . . .

Leave a Reply

