Lose Weight or Go Blind

Yesterday was the big appointment. After two and a half months of headaches, we were finally getting in to see a neurologist. I spent the whole day anxious. Did I want him to find something or not? I wanted him to find something, so we’d finally have answers. But if he did find something . . . then he found something in my brain. I was a nervous wreck inside.

He checked everything. From balance to reflexes, he checked it all. Side note – reflexes work great. It cracked me up how much my leg responded to my knee being lightly tapped. Daniel and I both do this thing in doctors’ offices where we try to make jokes and laugh with everyone – it takes some of the awkwardness away. Up until that point neither of us had laughed, so you could tell we were both nervous. Finally, the reflexes got me. It’s hysterical how completely involuntary it is. I couldn’t have made my leg stay still if I wanted. I’m a firm believer that God has a fantastic sense of humor.

He finally got to my eyes. He shined his light in them for what seemed like forever. It always seems longer when you’ve got someone standing three inches away from you staring at your face. Awkward.

We talked for a few minutes, and he said, “What bothers me the most is your vision loss.” My vision comes and goes in my right eye to the point where my glasses or contacts don’t help at all. “I can see pressure built up behind your right eye. I believe you have intracranial hypertension. If this isn’t corrected, you may have permanent vision loss.” Okay, so we may have an answer for the headaches. If that wasn’t bad enough, he continued . . .

“This is most commonly seen in women who are overweight, so we’re going to need you to keep your weight down.” Uh . . . hold on just a moment while I pull the knife out of my chest, Ehud (Judges 13:12-30). So, to sum up my visit: lose weight or go blind. If that’s not a swift kick in the head (ha!), I don’t know what is.

Now, he can’t say for certain that I have intracranial hypertension until we do an MRI next week, but he felt confident enough to start me on medication for it. Now, I’ve always dieted. Some people knit, others bake – I diet for a hobby. Now it’s time for the hobby to become the lifestyle. The best thing I’ve learned with dieting is planning ahead. It’s the “If you fail to plan, you plan to fail” type of mentality. Common sense, right? If you haven’t planned to have fruits and veggies in the house, you’re going to eat the junk that’s there when you get hungry. I’ve decided to start including meal plans a recipes on the blog. One, it’s an easy way for me to keep track of it. Two, it’s an easy way for y’all to hold me accountable and join with me. Three, (and this is a must!) it’s a super easy way to get meal ideas from all of y’all! Diets get hard when you fall into ruts.

I always knew how you eat affected how you lived, but I never imagined I’d risk going blind. It’s not like I’m insanely overweight either. Sure, I’m not where I’d like to be. I should’ve told the doctor, “Hey, if you think this is bad, you should’ve seen me pregnant!” At any rate, I’ve gotten a wake up call. I’ll be using this site to track progress, meal ideas, WODS, and whatever else comes to mind. If you have tips/suggestions or meal ideas and recipes, (of if you’ve had your own kick in the head) I’d love to read it!!

Brain's too big for my head!

4 thoughts on “Lose Weight or Go Blind

  1. The Dr. told me the cortisone cream I put on my insect bites caused my eye problem.  Still taking shots in my eye.

    ________________________________

    Like

  2. Hay, I just finished reading your blog. So sorry to hear about the things you are going thru. I just wanted to give you a link to a website that I have used for some time now to learn how to eat well and take care of myself. I trust this lady more so than any others I have come across lately. She is a mom with two young kids and understands that life is busy and very challenging but she also offers very practical advise. Check it out if you want to, maybe it’s something that you will find useful. http://www.beyonddiet.com Take care and we will certainly be praying for you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

