Daniel Fast Recipe: Black Bean Chili Bake

I love this stuff, and it’s crazy. I’m an adult, true, but I have the palate of a five year-old. I don’t like vegetables. My favorite vegetable is onion, because it’s more of a condiment than a vegetable. I can do a salad, but it’s a very minimalist salad. Ask all the ladies I go to church with. They straight up mock me at Bible study for my puny salads. But I love this recipe (and I HATE beans)! Oh, and another thing – I’m weird about foods touching. I don’t like my food mixed, touching, or even close to touching another food. My sister is the same way, but she’s worse than I am. It took her until the last couple years to try a PB&J!

This recipe is great if you’re starting the Daniel Fast. It’s even better if you’re the only one in your house who is fasting. It makes a large amount that’s easy to just grab and reheat. I’ve found that’s one of the most important things when fasting/dieting. You need to have something you can just grab quickly. If you have to stare inside the fridge or cabinets too long, you start getting tempted by everything else in there. Then come the excuses, and you know how the rest goes. Here’s the original recipe:

http://www.ultimatedanielfast.com/great-main-dish-recipe/

Great main dish recipe!

 
Black Bean Chili Bake

Black Bean Chili Bake

2 (15-ounce) cans black beans, rinsed & drained
2 cups cooked brown rice
2 (8-ounce) cans tomato sauce
1 (14.5-ounce) can corn kernels, drained
1 cup chopped jarred roasted red bell peppers
1/2 cup diced onion
1 tablespoon chili powder

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Put beans in a large bowl, and mash. Add tomato sauce, rice, peppers, corn, onions, and chili powder. Stir to combine. Rub a 9 by 13-inch casserole dish with olive oil, and place mixture in it. Bake 20 minutes, or until heated through.

Yield: 6 servings (serving size: about 1 cup)

Recipe Notes

  • Spread on top of Broiled Polenta Squares.
  • Additional topping ideas include avocado slices, cherry tomatoes, green onions, or black olives.
  • To roast bell peppers, cut peppers in halves or quarters; remove seeds and membranes. Place peppers on a baking sheet, skin side up. Place the baking sheet on a rack in the oven about 4 inches from the broiling unit. Broil 20 minutes, or until skins are blackened. Immediately transfer the peppers to a paper or plastic bag; seal and let stand 20 minutes. The steam within the bag will help to loosen the skins. Remove from the bag. When cool enough to handle, remove peel with hands or a knife.

 

I do make a couple changes to my recipe. I typically don’t do the red peppers. One, they’re more expensive. I cheat and do green peppers if I really want them in there. Most of the time, I just skip it (simply out of laziness/hunger). I also add cumin. Lots of cumin. I add some cilantro and garlic as well. Add whatever spices you like. This can be a pretty bland dish if you’re not adding extra spices.

Extra tidbit – mash the beans with your hands. It goes so much faster. Maybe I don’t have the right cooking utensils – whatever. Just get in there and squeeze those beans to death. You’re an adult now – you get to decide if it’s cooking or “playing with your food.”

Leave a comment if you get to try this. I’d love to know how you spiced things up!

2 thoughts on “Daniel Fast Recipe: Black Bean Chili Bake

Leave a comment