Ways to Earn Extra Cash

I’m having a money crisis. I mean money that’s just extra. It’s not from my paycheck; it’s not going to pay bills. It’s just a little extra on the side. I’d love for this blog to make money, but that’s a dream for the future. I’m just not there yet. I have found a few ways to make a little extra on the side. When I say little, I’m being very realistic. It’s just tidbits that add up over time. Since this has been on my mind for a while now, I thought I’d share. Maybe you’ll have more success than me.

1. Swagbucks.com. Swagbucks is a search engine like Google or Bing with the exception that it rewards you for your searches. They also give you tons of other ways to earn “Swagbucks.” My favorite way to earn is through the coupons. I go shopping for school, so I’ll print off coupons from this site. It saves the school money, and I earn extra bucks just from using their site. Win-win. Swagbucks also gives you the bucks that your friends earn after you’ve referred them. Click on this link here: swagbucks.com/refer/HannahWalker. Now, I would potentially earn anything you earn. The same deal works for you when you get friends to sign up. Now, I’m not trying to get everyone to sign up under my name – that’s not the point. The point is, this is an easy way to earn extra cash. I have a friend that’s very diligent with this site, and it pays for her gas every month. For our family, that can easily be a couple hundred dollars extra every month.

2. Mycokerewards.com. I love this site. You know those codes in the caps of Coke bottles that most people ignore? Stop ignoring them! Hey – someone else’s trash can turn into your treasure. We don’t purchase Coke very often, but we have friends and family that do. My family is great about saving their Coke codes for me. Plus, I snag the codes off the Coke products I buy for school. It’s free money. It takes a little while to add up, but I like to save it for Christmas. Well, it almost always goes to help with Christmas. I will confess, that I really wanted to go shopping, so I used my Coke rewards to get a $25 gift certificate to Old Navy. If you’re patient (or if you have friends that drink a lot of Coke), those little caps can really add up!

3. Ibotta. I’ve been following southernsavers.com for a while now, and I was always disappointed by never being able to use Ibotta to save extra on top of my coupons. I finally got a smartphone (yeah!), so now I have the Ibotta app. If you’ve never used this before, you’ve got to add the free app. Ibotta has a list of items that will earn additional savings. After your shopping is done, scan the barcode of the items that match their list, take a picture of your receipt, and voila – you just started earning extra cash. That money can be put on a gift card or into a paypal account. Click on this link to get started: http://ibotta.com/r/8nu3w.

4. Checkout 51. This is basically the same idea as Ibotta. It’s a simplified version. With Ibotta, you can earn lots of extra bonuses. Checkout 51 is the same idea, just simpler. Go through their list of items, click on the offers you want to claim, and take a picture of your receipt. It takes about 24 hours for your earnings to show up in your account. When your earnings add up to $20, they mail you a check.

While I’d love to be able to make or bake something and sell it for profit, I’m still in the baby step stages. I really feel like the best way to make extra money is to save the money that’s already being made – a penny saved is a penny earned type of idea. Printing coupons is literally the legal way to print money. Taking the two extra minutes to take a picture of my receipt is worth the dollar here and another dollar there. It all adds up. And since the weather is getting nicer, maybe I should start collecting items for a yard sale. There’s another idea!

Leave a comment with your money-saving/earning ideas! I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

