Stupid Questions

There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of stupid people asking questions. Pregnancy brings out the worst in everyone. It doesn’t affect just the mother. For some reason, everyone gets stupid around a pregnant woman. People see a bulging belly, and all of a sudden common sense and decency are out the window. Think about it: what if that woman you had a this-is-too-much-information-in-the-grocery-line conversation with wasn’t even pregnant?

If you’re one of those people (bless your heart) that just has to ask really personal questions to a pregnant woman, ask yourself this. If this woman wasn’t pregnant, would the conversation still be appropriate? Would you still rub her belly if she wasn’t pregnant?

Consider this: She knows how big she is. You don’t have to comment. She is not a troll. There is no jewel in her bellybutton that is supposed to be lucky, so don’t rub it. Don’t talk to the belly – it’s weird (unless you’re the daddy – then it’s sweet).

I wanted to make a list of all the stupid questions I’ve been asked. Let’s take a poll to see which one you think is the worst.

I included, “How are you?” in the poll, because it always bothered me. “I’m as big as a house. How do you think I’m doing??” Maybe that was just very angry hormones talking. I’m not mad at these people for asking questions. And no, I didn’t always mind the conversations with strangers. But seriously, a little common sense can go a long way. I’m not sure why I’m writing this now. No, I’m not pregnant – don’t even ask!

So, what’s the worst thing you’ve ever been asked?

pregnant

One thought on “Stupid Questions

  1. HA! I have to commiserate because I am in this exact stage. Nearly every single person at our (small) church has commented on my size (I’m barely 30 weeks). I don’t know why it makes me so upset, because I don’t feel bad when I see myself in a mirror and I don’t have any body image or weight mental issues that I know of! It’s just incredibly irritating to hear such an obvious (and normal and good) fact commented upon over and over. I don’t know why it’s ok to comment on my size now but if I were this size normally, not a word would be said. 🙂 I am glad I’ve never heard the one about my feet holding me up though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

