Cheap Halloween

So… yes, I’m very slow getting this post out. Black Friday and Cyber Monday have had us all thinking about getting deals and saving money. I’m that person that no one wants to stand in line behind at Wal-Mart, because I try to have as many coupons as possible. Cutting corners and saving pennies doesn’t just happen for us at Christmas time. This year, we even went super cheap for Halloween.

We’re not big into Halloween. We don’t decorate, and we don’t pass out candy. We’re the boring people who turn their lights off and go to church events. There’s no one trick-or-treating in my neighborhood anyway, so it’s a win-win. We had two church events to go to, but we really didn’t want to end up spending a lot of money on costumes. I had been googling cheap Halloween costumes for kids or homemade costumes for weeks, but I wasn’t having any luck.

The day before Halloween was our first church event, and I was trying not to panic. I hadn’t gotten anything together, and I didn’t want my kids to be the only ones not dressed up. I figured we didn’t have to win any contests, but we did need to make sure our kids didn’t feel left out. Finally, when I was just about out of time, Daniel said to just spend the money. “Nope, I think I’ve got it.”

Who knew Halloween, of all holidays, could increase my prayer life? I decided Sophia would be Pippi Longstocking; Faith would be a bag of jelly beans (don’t judge – it was super cute); and Jacob would be Man in Black.

Man in Black, Pippi Longstocking, Bag of Jelly Beans

Man in Black, Pippi Longstocking, Bag of Jelly Beans

I told you it was cute, right? Here’s the breakdown of how we were able to stay on budget:

Sophia aka Pippi:

  • Socks: adult-sized fuzzy socks, two in a pack for $2.50
  • Fabric: left-over from last Christmas – FREE
  • Wire for her hair: $2

Another great thing is I get to keep the socks! My feet will definitely be warm this winter!

Only the cutest bag of jelly beans I've ever seen!

Only the cutest bag of jelly beans I’ve ever seen!

Faith aka Jelly Beans:

  • Clear Trash Bag – $2.50
  • Balloons – $1
  • White Ribbon – $1
  • Jelly Belly logo – printed at home
Aliens better watch their back!

Aliens better watch their back!

Jacob aka Man in Black

  • Suit: given by my sister – FREE
  • Sunglasses: on sale for $3

Total for everything: $12. That’s cheaper than buying one kid’s costume in Wal-Mart. I think they turned out really cute. I had random people I didn’t know coming up to me asking if they could take pictures of my kids to pass along the ideas. It wasn’t as cheap as just pulling something out of the dress-up clothes, but it was too cold for most of them.

Anyway, I thought I’d just share. Next challenge: CHRISTMAS! Let me know if you see any super deals or have money-saving ideas too!

Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

