Is honesty always the best policy?

Where is the line between being silent and being a hypocrite? Hypocrisy from Christians is the biggest argument against us. If you follow this blog closely, you probably noticed that it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything. WOD or otherwise. I’ve been trying to figure out when being silent is actually being a hypocrite. I’ve been struggling with a lot of things lately. It’s all internalized. If you’re not close to me, you probably wouldn’t see anything different . . . but there’s a battle going on inside my mind.

I’ve been asking myself this question: if I only post when I feel like being encouraging (or God has encouraged me) about something, is my silence hypocrisy. This is my personal conclusion: yes, in the internet world it is. If you ask yourself the same question, you may come to a different conclusion. I’ve seen how the internet affects people. Many of my friends have stopped using facebook, because it became a weapon for comparisons. They’d look at other people’s lives and feel inadequate. Everyone else’s kids are always clean and well-behaved. They’re cooking up a gourmet meal for dinner tonight, while you’re pulling your hair out just to feed your kids chicken nuggets. They leave social media, because they always leave feeling discouraged. If the point of this blog is to encourage, then I must make sure I’m honest – the good, bad, and ugly.

The biggest encouragement we hear sometimes is that we’re not alone. All kids misbehave sometimes. Mommies aren’t guaranteed showers every day. You’re not a failure if your kids have eaten at McDonald’s (or can even spot the golden arches from a mile away). You may vaccinate, you may not. You may choose to keep your child in a carseat until they’re twelve, you may be okay with a booster seat. Whatever! Do you love your child and do your best to take care of that child? You’re a good parent. The rest of the chaos is normal.

So, honesty can be the biggest encouragement . . . It’s when we fake it like we’ve got it all together that we push others away. Ironic, huh? Just when you think you’ve got your life looking picture-perfect . . . Not that you can’t be proud of your kids – you should be. Let’s just make an effort to be honest, to be real.

In an effort to take what I’m dishing out, I’m working on another post right now. I’m trying to find the sweet spot – honest but not airing my dirty laundry. Make sense? What do you think? Is honesty the best policy? Are Christians doing more harm than good by attempting to display a perfect life? Or do you see admitting flaws and failings as complacency? Do you find yourself feeling inadequate when you look at those around you?

Maybe you don’t need to answer that right now. Maybe you just need to pay attention next time you’re checking out social media. Are you being honest?

Good moms . . .

2 thoughts on “Is honesty always the best policy?

  1. Very interesting topic. When it comes to social media…I try and post things that follow these three rules: Is it true, is it honest, is it good? And a lot of the time that means posting something that might not be the picture of PERFECTION…it’s me, it’s my life (take it or leave it).

    Like

Leave a Reply

