Homemade Tips and Tricks

I love it when I find new “homemade” things to try. I’m not anti-chemical, but I do like the idea of using natural products. . . especially with kids. A lot of the products I use are Melalauca, so they’re pretty safe. I actually caught Sophia after she drank about 5 oz. of dish soap, and she didn’t have any issues from it. We never understood why she drank that much of it. Daniel even tasted it to see if it would taste good, but nope. Apparently, that stuff was thick and nasty. It didn’t make sense at all why she drank it. I’m afraid poison control may know us by now – my kids can find everything to get into. So far, minus one incident with Tylenol (which I’ll probably explain in another post), we’ve been very fortunate that no one’s ended up with serious issues from eating random things. I promise, I do feed my children – they’re not searching for things out of starvation. Anyway, going out with 3 kids is hard. Typically, going out with 1 kid can be a nightmare. 3 kids is a suicide mission. (I’m exaggerating . . . sort of. You other mamas know what I mean.) Finding “homemade” solutions is one way I can eliminate a trip to the store and save some money. I’ve been looking into trying a couple new things, so I thought I’d share about the things I’ve tried so far. My favorites: bug killers (These aren’t my own ideas. I take no credit for them, even if can’t remember where I found them.) Gnat killer:

  • Apple cider vinegar (1/2 – 1 cup)
  • Dish soap (a few pumps)
  • Mix it together and leave it on the counter. Gnats come in, but they don’t come out. I found this wonderful concoction after we ended up with an infested pineapple. No joke. Now, if I want fresh pineapple, I make sure it doesn’t have gnats when it comes home with me.

Ant killer: stacymakescents.com

  • 1 cup of sugar,
  • 1 tablespoon of Borax
  • ½ cup of water
  • Combine ingredients in a saucepan. Bring to a boil and boil for three minutes. Let it cool completely. It will thicken as it cools.
  • I cleaned the kitchen and got anything that might distract the ants from the poison. Then I used an old medicine dropper and placed drops where the ants seem to go the most. I left the poison out for a few days (it gets really hard), the ants flock to it, then they go home and die. No dead ants for me to clean up. After a few days, no more ants.
  • I leave the extra mixture in a jar. Yes, it hardens in the jar. Microwave it for 30 seconds, and it’s ready to go again. Hopefully, you won’t need it.

ants

ants2

Drano

  • Baking soda (1 cup)
  • Vinegar (1 cup)
  • 1 pot boiling/very hot water
  • Pour baking soda in the clogged drain. Leave it there for 30 minutes or so. Then pour vinegar into the drain. Enjoy feeling like you’re back in elementary making a volcano science project. After the foam has died down a little bit, pour the hot water over the drain. Voila! Your drain should be clear (or at least, better than it was).

Those are a few that I’ve tried (and liked) so far. Recently, a friend of mine has been blogging about “No-Poo” hair, a method of eliminating chemical-filled shampoos/hair products. Check out her blog: coffeeandturquoise. I think that’s the next thing I’m going to try, since I’m trying to grow my hair out. I’ve been getting rid of chemicals in the things I eat and the things I clean with. Why not try it out on my hair? I’ve used baking soda for extra cleaning whenever my hair has a lot of product in it anyway (thanks Mom!). If you have things you think I need to try for a healthier/safer home, let me know! I’m game for most anything to help make my home better for my family. Leave your “tips and tricks” in the comments, and I’ll update with anything else I find and how the “No-Poo” method works out! 270216046361991972Ka8VBw44c

3 thoughts on “Homemade Tips and Tricks

  1. Thanks for mentioning me on your blog! You totally should try ‘no poo’! I can already tell that my hair is growing and I’m only on my 40th day and have been trying FOREVER it seems to grow my hair out. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

