Would You do a 40-Day Fast?

My ladies’ group at church is getting ready to do a 40-day fast. We’re going through A Call to Die by David Nasser. I’m really looking forward to it. I’ve done fasts before, and God has always been faithful to answer my prayers. The most obvious answer I’ve ever gotten was the first time I fasted.

Daniel and I had a unique opportunity to go work in Africa and earn course credits for college right after we got married. It sounded amazing, but spending an entire semester in Africa was a big decision, so we decided to go on a fast. A couple weeks after we fasted, we found out I was pregnant with Sophia. Since children weren’t allowed on the trip, we had a pretty clear-cut answer.

No, I’m not anticipating getting pregnant again. But, to be honest, I never really anticipated that each time it happened. Fasts don’t always involve food. They can and a lot of times do, but you can fast from many things: certain types of food, TV, social media, texting – the possibilities are pretty extensive. This particular fast is about giving up something in order to grow closer to God – that may not mean food.

I haven’t decided what I’m going to do yet. I’m wondering . . . what would you be willing to give up for 40 days in exchange for a closer walk with God?

Would you be interested in joining us on our fast?

A Call to Die by David Nasser

Follow our group at Ladies of Hope

One thought on “Would You do a 40-Day Fast?

Leave a Reply

