Who is the mad housewife?

“Old Marley was as dead as a door-nail . . . There is no doubt that Marley was dead. This must be distinctly understood, or nothing wonderful can come of the story I am going to relate.”
                                                                                            – Charles Dickens, A Christmas Carol
This has got to be my favorite opening of any work of fiction. Marley was dead . . . Well, nice to see you too, Charlie. Right? BUT, the entire novel hinges on the fact that Marley was indeed dead. If he hadn’t been dead, there would be no ghosts with life lessons for Ebenezer. They would’ve been merely fools playing a cruel joke on old Scrooge. Dickens was right – that fact must be distinctly understood.
So, what does A Christmas Carol have to do with a housewife? Funny you should ask. It’s been the greatest thing I’ve been learning lately. Hi, I’m Hannah. I am a Christian. “This must be distinctly understood, or nothing wonderful can come of the story I am going to relate.”
I never realized how much my personal belief system dictated every aspect of my life. Sure, I’ve had the religion and philosophy classes, but it took me this long for all of those long lectures to finally sink in my thick skull. It wasn’t until I began working with teenagers that I realized just how much my basic beliefs in God and Jesus Christ affected my everyday life. (And when I say working with, I mostly mean getting to hang out with.) Most of these kids don’t believe in God, or they’re not sure if He exists. BUT, they’re searching for Him. Their quest for truth has made me appreciate the fact that I was brought up in a Christian home, but it has also made me truly evaluate why I believe what I believe.
I am a Christian. Everything I write on here should reflect that. “Huh?” Yes, I get that. Let me try to explain. Thoughts stem from other thoughts which stem from other thoughts and eventually boil down to a specific belief system.
For example:
I’m going to steal.
Why? Because I’m hungry.
Why? Because I’m poor.
Why? Because I wasted all of my money on alcohol/drugs/gambling/entertainment….
Why? Because I need to feel pleasure.
Why? Because life is short, and there’s nothing after it.
Why? Because there is no God and no such thing as eternality.
Atheism: there is no God.
Or . . . (And this is one I am hearing a lot recently)
I am going to choose to do right.
Why? Because I have learned the value of doing right.
Why? Because I have educated myself.
Why? Because knowledge leads to morality.
Humanism: man is capable within himself to achieve morality.
This is my favorite:
I’m going to accept Christ as my Savior.
Why? Because Jesus Christ has proven to be the only acceptable sacrifice for sin. God in human flesh died for me.
Why? Because I need a Savior.
Why? Because I am a sinner and incapable of changing that on my own.
Why? Because I was born a sinner.
Why? Because one man’s sin caused all to be born with the sin curse.
Why? Because God created man to be holy, and man disobeyed.
Why? Because God is holy. He loves His creation and wants a relationship with each one of us.
Christianity: the belief that we, because of Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross, can have a relationship with God.
So, if you’ve actually made it to the bottom of all of that, you know who the mad housewife is down deep to the core. No, most posts on here won’t be theologically or philosophically driven, but it’s only fair to be upfront and completely honest. I tell you this now to help hold myself accountable as well. There’s nothing like telling the entire world via the internet that your desire is to reflect Christ, right? On the surface, it’s my attempt to survive (and possibly thrive) motherhood. My sanity is all but gone, but I’m guessing yours is too, or you wouldn’t be reading a blog called “Diary of a Mad Housewife.”
 
Hi, I’m Hannah. It’s nice to meet you.
Leave a Reply

